20th January 2019, New York, Frick Collection review

“Through the almost feverish intensity of their playing, the three musicians stir up a powerful emotional resonance that becomes exultant.

the richness of their sound and the ardour with which they play made for a thrilling experience

My hope now is that the Karénine will soon be back in our City; their passion and artistry will always be welcome.”



15th January 2019, Williamsburg VA review

” Trio Karénine offers impressive chamber music performance. Piano-violin-cello ensemble demonstrated high-quality artistry in Williamsburg Library show. In Debussy, many moments of sweeping and varied emotions and an all together gentleness of feeling were creatively crafted among the three, allowing an ebb and flow of emotion.

(…) Suggestive of Schumann’s shifting emotional states, the finale is bright, energetic and positive, with bits of turbulence tossed into the mix. Ravel piano trio is also a work that provides its players many opportunities to display brilliant, virtuoso style skills. Moving from the flowing lyricism of the opening to the playful, string pizzicatos and gentle keyboard glissandos of the second to the sustained, almost funeral passacaglia in the third and the quasi-symphonic burst of sunshine in the finale, the Ravel was richly rewarding and probably showcased the trio’s best collective efforts. “

John Shulson for the VaGazette


14th January 2019, Norfolk VA, Chrysler Museum, review :

« Trio Karénine shares timeless Classical Chamber music at the Chrysler Museum (…) The group was stirring and fantastical (…)  A strong performance of chamber music that is easy to love and enjoy », Rebecca Evans


The Trio Karénine were joint winners of the 2013 ARD Competition in Munich. They formed as recently as 2009 and the choice of Schumann for their first disc is a bold one. There’s an effervescence and lightness that underpins their approach (not for nothing are they named after Tolstoy’s heroine Anna Karenina, « for the life force she represents »).

The Second Trio suits them particularly well; They capture the upward-surging opening of the first movement and the thrilling élan of its close. Yet they don’t underplay the contrasting elements either, for instance, the confiding theme introduced by the piano at 0’50’’ (tr 5). (…) The lolling intermezzo-like third movement, with its canonic conversation between strings and piano, is also very effective while the finale is a particularly elated affair, the Karénine palpably delighting in Schumann’s flow of melodic invention;

The turbulent First Trio is also full of good things. (…) the new group convey the energy of the finale with great immediacy, combining a sens of freshness with deep-seated understanding of Schumann’s world. A most impressive debut. 

Gramophone Mag, June 2016, Harriet Smith

Lorem ipsum author transierem aaaaa

Dolorum regnum title